Baseball Canada
2016 Baseball Canada Cup Championships
Aug 3-8    Fort McMurray, Alberta







Wednesday, January 24, 2018 | Fran├žais

About Fort McMurray

Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Wood Buffalo ranks by area, as one of the largest municipalities in North America encompassing 68,454 square kilometers.

The municipality was established in April 1995 through the amalgamation of the City of Fort McMurray and Improvement District No. 143.

Commonly referred to and thought of as a city, Fort McMurray is unincorporated and therefore has the status of being the largest unincorporated "city" in Alberta.

Additionally, the municipality consists of ten smaller communities: Anzac, Conklin, Draper, Fort Chipewyan, Fort Fitzgerald, Fort McKay, Gregoire Lake Estates, Janvier, Mariana Lake and Saprae Creek Estates

Today, the Municipality is one of the fastest growing industrial communities in Canada due to the rich oil sands deposits underlying the region.

With over $125 billion in oil sands investment planned for the next decade, Wood Buffalo boasts one of the world's hottest regional economies.

Click here for more information: